G-string Journey

One Wild Journey, One Crazy Couple, One Life to Live

The last straw

Today I’m at my wits end. The last straw is about to be plucked from my Wakhan broom. I am speaking with the Ministry of Information and Culture and they tell me that they are unable to send a letter directly to the Wakhan to support my journey, they can only send a letter to Faizabad. I give up. I have hit the final dead end.

I decide to call PACTEC to cancel my flight as I was told that I had to cancel three days in advance or I would not be able to get a refund. I am sad, but I am also thinking of all the money I am going to save, and in all honesty, the stress has gotten to my tummy. I reach the PACTEC man and he promptly informs me that he is unable to provide me with any refund for my flight as I need to cancel my flight three working days in advance in order to receive a 50% refund and they are closed on Thursdays and Fridays. I am flabbergasted. Closed? On Thursdays and Fridays? What kind of airline is closed on a Thursday!? Obviously one that wants to make the most out of its cancellation policy and ensures its flights run on Saturdays. To top it off, they charge 25$ to cancel! All of this is, of course, outlined in their cancellation policy that I have not seen because I am not allowed to book my own flight – see plan E from July 08!

Now I have a 400$ ticket that I cannot use because I cannot get a permit from a Ministry whose job it is to promote tourism. I also have the job of canceling cars, porters, gear rental, hotels in Tajikistan and my flight from Dushanbe. At the last minute, I get a call from the man of the hour; my knight in white Afghan pyjamas – my husband. He has a possible connection to another person at the Ministry. We are going to give it one more shot. I send him a copy of my passport and visa and hold my breath.

I am still holding it and expect to pass out any minute now.

2 comments on “The last straw

  1. Reiko
    July 11, 2012

    Oh no! Did this happen after we spoke on Skype!?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2012 by in The Wakhan Corridor and tagged , , , , , , .

Sites of Interest

Countdown Kabul to Cork

Driving a '68 Bug from Afghanistan to Ireland!July 1st, 2013
Follow the campaign, planning, restoration and frustration!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Contact me

