G-string Journey

One Wild Journey, One Crazy Couple, One Life to Live

The Wakhan Journey Lives!

Last night we sent two letters from the Ministry of Information and Culture to my helping hand in he Wakhan. He replied this morning saying:

On Thu, Jul 12, 2012 at 8:43 AM, <> wrote:

Thanks for your email and I hope you are doing well, I received the letter But it is again addressed to the official generally,  it was not specified to whom this letter is being issued. it doesn’t work here. The previous letter was more comprehensive if you can lanid in Faizabad and show it to the Department of Information and Culture in Faizabad to get another letter to Wakhan District.
The letter was not stumped as well, Ragards

I’m going to say it one last time… I am really, not going to Faizabad (issue one from first blog).

So, this morning we hit the ground running. Hubby calling contacts, them calling their contacts who are calling the District Governor. We are determined to get this sorted once and for all. And… we do! Believe it or not, with a few phone calls, it is sorted!

Today I celebrate. There is a car on its way to Kret to meet me with my permit upon arrival. The guys slid into home plate at the eleventh hour, and the run counts! Hubby and his colleagues pull through in the time of need. Let the fun times begin!

The plan:

Fly to Kret in the Wakhan Corridor, one of the most remote places in the world.

Savour the accomplishment

Hike through the beauty of Wakhan

Drive back through Ishkashim

Cross the border to Tajikistan

Visit Khorog

Fly back to Kabul from Dushanbe

 That is as far as the plan goes. I really do not know much of the in-betweens, but am happy to be flying by the seat of my g-string pants!

3 comments on “The Wakhan Journey Lives!

  1. Kristina Illes
    July 12, 2012

    My heart is ready to burst with how happy I am that I know you and how proud of you I am every day of my life!!!!!

  2. Roger Perdomo
    July 22, 2012

    I feel your pain, many years dealing with Honduras bureaucracy has trained me well.

    Happy to know you are on your way to Wakhan Corridor, and waiting to see some photographs

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2012 by in The Wakhan Corridor and tagged , , , , , .

Sites of Interest

Countdown Kabul to Cork

Driving a '68 Bug from Afghanistan to Ireland!July 1st, 2013
Follow the campaign, planning, restoration and frustration!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Contact me

