G-string Journey

One Wild Journey, One Crazy Couple, One Life to Live

Yaks and traditional hydration

I wake up and find my tent is still in the same place I pitched it, but the ground is soaking wet and my tent fly is inside out hanging from its velcro loop at the peak. I am  thankful I decided to place rocks over the tent pegs!

I pack up and wander down to the river to wash. As I splash the cold water on my face, I feel what seems like a million bumps and lumps on my forehead, nose and chin. Sunblisters. Damn. Without a mirror, I can only feel how bad it looks, which is worse than seeing it. The blisters feel monstrous. I open my first aid kit and all I have that could be considered remotely useful is a bright orange antiseptic cream made in Pakistan. I smear it all over my face and hope there is a magical ingredient that will make it all go away.

No such luck. By 10:00 I am sweltering again. We reach a river that we need to cross without shoes. I am in the process of removing my socks when a heard of yaks and their owners approach the river. One of the owners seems to take pity on me and hoists me up on one of the yaks so I can cross the river. This is my first ever ride on a yak and I should be thrilled. However, my excitement is somewhat dampened by the fact that the yak owners are all staring at my face in awe of its redness. One man even sticks his finger out to touch the blister on the bridge of my nose. I am feeling quite self-conscious of the bright orange cream at this stage!

As I leave the river behind me, I realize the next few hours are uphill. Half way through I am dying of thirst. Juma sees the pained look on my face and wanders off the trail. He returns with stalks of wild rhubarb and something he calls ‘chicory’. The rhubarb hits the spot and I start to feel less dehydrated. The chicory, which looks nothing like the chicory I know, is even better. I pocket several stocks of each and continue to make my way up. I need to put both of these plants on my hiking menu in the future. Juma saves the day, once again, and I start to think I may make it through the loss of my water bottle and sunscreen!

7 comments on “Yaks and traditional hydration

  1. Mary
    August 26, 2012

    You must have been questioning your resilience with a face-ful of blisters. Sounds awful for you. Juma saves the day. It shows the importance of having local guides who know traditional survival skills in their native environment. The only way I tolerate rhubarb is in pie, but then I’ve never been dehydrated on a hike in Afghanistan. Your knowledge and resourcefulness is growing.

    • gstringjourney
      August 27, 2012

      I only hope I have little need for such knowledge in the future!

  2. Roger Perdomo
    August 28, 2012

    I wonder if there is some kind of root or plant that you could have use to protect your face. An Substitude of Savila. Maybe it was the first time for Juma to see someone with an burned face.

    • gstringjourney
      September 2, 2012

      I’m going to have to look that up! I wonder if anyone out there knows any natural sunscreen option!

  3. Eric
    August 29, 2012

    I saw the lovely picture of you eating the melon-AND the not so lovely blisters on your nose!! You gotta stop eating melon!! Love Eric

    • gstringjourney
      September 2, 2012

      haha! I guess so – I may want to stay out of the sun while I am at it!

  4. Brent
    October 2, 2012

    Henry. Wear a hat.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2012 by in The Wakhan Corridor and tagged , , , , , , , .

Sites of Interest

Countdown Kabul to Cork

Driving a '68 Bug from Afghanistan to Ireland!July 1st, 2013
Follow the campaign, planning, restoration and frustration!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Contact me

