G-string Journey

One Wild Journey, One Crazy Couple, One Life to Live

The Kabul to Cork route

Sroute mapo here it is; the first rendition of our planned route. It is our first encounter with a navigational tool of the naive kind!

To believe that we can plan our route from my computer in Kabul and will be in a position to stick to it, is indeed, naive. We do know that we will have to make alterations along the way and we expect things to go wrong (or right) that will take us off our planned path, but for now, this is our dreamer’s guide to “Kabul to Cork”. If you noticed, we like water. One thing I have learned about myself over the last five years in Afghanistan, is that I am a water-baby. I grew up on a lake and water feeds my soul. Afghanistan certainly lacks water. For this reason, we are choosing many water-hugging roads. I think it has the added benefit that if we are ever stranded along the way, we won’t be thirsty!

Where there is still a question in our minds is between Italy and Germany. Here is the story: My mother, who is the most fabulous woman in the world, has a bucket list (and I forgive her for this). bucket_listOn her bucket list are things such as a family portrait. This may sound easy enough, but not so easy when your daughter lives half-way around the world. We got through the family portrait and to be honest, it’s a lovely photo. Next however, was a family trip. I do not know how families bigger than four ever organize thesebook_venezia_en things! There were eight of us involved in the planning. That was seven people too many. Everyone has a different opinion of an ideal vacation (especially when kids are involved), and the matriarch was unwilling to take the reins and make an executive decision. Finally, after a year of “planning”, Italy was the final decision. Mom has always wanted to go to Italy and my brother-in-law, the genius of little-known-web-gems, found WhaiWhai tour books for Italy that have been described as part “Amazing Race’, and part treasure hunt, with a bit of DaVinci code-style storytelling mixed in. We were all excited about that (you need to look these up if you like these kinds of things – they have them throughout Italy, but now have one for NYC. For all my NYC friends, I totally recommend you pick it up)!

An unfortunate series of events forced my mother and her husband to stay home. My sister and I were relentless about wanting to cancel the trip, but this was the one instance in which the matriarch decided to put her foot down. The trip was wonderful for my husband and I and my sister and her family, but there was a gaping hole in the passenger manifest. We were teary when gazing at the Colosseum; not because of its incredible beauty but because of a bucket list unchecked.
When driving through this area of the world, my husband and I thought it would be great to meet my mother in Italy to try to semi-check the bucket list. The whole family would not be there, but at least she could see the Colosseum with two of us. On the other hand, Germany is where Humpty the VW Bug is from. Driving back through Germany would be re-tracing its steps. The original owner drove it from Germany to Kabul; it only seems remiss to pass up the opportunity for a full circle. We could always meet mom in Germany – maybe even for Oktoberfest!
What do you think?

17 comments on “The Kabul to Cork route

  1. sarah clancy
    December 5, 2012

    My heart was saying Italy initially but my head was screaming Germany. The family thing pushed me towards Italy but the retracing steps makes more sense. The journey is about the vw so it seems wrong to deny it a return home. It will make for better reading on your blog esp for non family and poss get more fundraising. Only us suckers for family would like the romantic idea of the bucket list. Maybe your mam could visit Italy while in Europe and do what you suggested and hook up in germany.??

  2. Mary
    December 5, 2012

    I regret not being a member of your family. Such spirit!

  3. Jacqui o'Riordan
    December 5, 2012

    Looks like the best beach holiday ever ! Italy fits, but then there’s a strong case for Germany – reckon the only solution is to flip a coin – enjoy

    • gstringjourney
      December 6, 2012

      That may be the solution Jacqui! Hope you guys are home safe and sound. Will catch up soon

  4. Mike Fitzgibbon
    December 5, 2012

    Jeez Sheilaghen, yer really taking the beach route. Have to say I’d feck the bugs somewhat dodgy ancestry( pretty strange history them beetles) and do the Italian job.

    • gstringjourney
      December 6, 2012

      Its no coincidence we chose Ballinacurra! Speaking of dodgy ancestry Mike…

  5. Roger Perdomo
    December 5, 2012

    I think italy is the best idea. I do like the idea of a full circle for the VW, but you know me, Family comes first. Also I think that you can plan a trip from “Cork to Wolfsburg” to close the circle.

    • gstringjourney
      December 6, 2012

      Now there’s an idea!

      • Roger Perdomo
        December 8, 2012

        Glad you like it. Keep us posted I’m sure all of us, your fan club, want to know the final plan. 😉

  6. Wendy
    December 6, 2012

    Im not sure why you cant do both? Meet mum in Italy then detour up through Germany before heading back towards the UK.

    • gstringjourney
      December 6, 2012

      Always the practical one

      • Wendy
        December 6, 2012

        works for me :-)…. perhaps I can entice you by offering to buy you an Oktoberfest beer?

      • gstringjourney
        December 7, 2012

        Done deal!

  7. Dede Cummings
    December 26, 2012

    Hi there, My “gut” response was Italy 🙂 and you know how us Crohnnies are with that gut-level response, eh? I could totally meet you, too! I think a blog-Crohn’s reunion is in order! My son lives in Barcelona . . . so maybe there?! Anyway, it is exciting to see the route taking shape.

    • gstringjourney
      January 8, 2013

      Happy New Year Dede! I think Italy is in order then! I think a Crohn’s gathering is a great idea! I will think that through and stay in touch with you on it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2012 by in Kabul to Cork and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Sites of Interest

Countdown Kabul to Cork

Driving a '68 Bug from Afghanistan to Ireland!July 1st, 2013
Follow the campaign, planning, restoration and frustration!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Contact me

