G-string Journey

One Wild Journey, One Crazy Couple, One Life to Live

Mother’s Day Tribute

Tomorrow is Mother’s Day, so I am dedicating this post to my mom.

Mom and I

If I could have chosen a mom from the mom store, I couldn’t have chosen better than the one I have. My mother and I are very similar. I inherited her creativity, and her passion for adventure and travel. From the time I can remember, mom had my sister and I shoved in the back of a car, in a trailer, on a plane, train, or in any other mode of travel. It is from her that I live by the idea that ‘it is not the destination, but the journey’. She would love to join us on the Kabul to Cork trip. As it is, she will most likely meet us somewhere along the way. She always has.

My first posting overseas was to a small village of about eighteen houses in Honduras. She came and stayed with me; cooking dinner on an open fire and sweeping the floors with straw. She has joined me in just about every country since – including Afghanistan.

When I first told people here that my mother was coming to visit, thm_mom une reaction was disbelief, then it was envy. Everyone I know would love for family and friends to experience, first-hand, the life we live in Afghanistan and the work we do. Most people’s friends and family, however, would never think of coming. Not only did my mother come, but she stayed for two months. She volunteered at a local orphanage, taught English at our NGO and traveled to more places than most people who live here have ever been. Finally I was able to shove her into various modes of transport, including armoured vehicles and helicopters.

I always try to send cards or flowers on Mother’s Day as I am rarely at home for the occasion. It’s not the same as being there. My mother is a busy woman. She sings, plays golf, volunteers,m_mom n i travels, dances, entertains, and keeps a beautiful (and somewhat chaotic) home. I too am very busy, so time can slip by without either of us realizing how long I have been away, especially when she and I Skype just about every day; but, on Mother’s Day, I miss her.

It is on Mother’s Day  that I think about how lucky I am to have been influenced from the start by someone for whom I have so much respect and aspire to emulate. I am thankful that I was fortunate enough to be guided by someone caring, thoughtful, and strong and that I have been able to assume a fraction of her amazing qualities. She dedicated m_mom flowersher life to my sister and I and flowers on Mother’s Day just don’t compensate for the sacrifices she has made. All I can say is THANK YOU MOM – thank you for giving me the world and so much more.

I love you

Happy Mother’s Day.

13 comments on “Mother’s Day Tribute

  1. Tina Schell
    May 12, 2013

    A very beautiful tribute – probably a better gift than flowers 🙂 Lost my mom when she was quite young 12 years ago. Glad to see you treasuring yours !

    • gstringjourney
      May 12, 2013

      I only wish we were physically closer. I am sorry about your mom. I hope you have lots of fond memories.

  2. Patricia
    May 12, 2013

    💓💓💓

  3. Anna Marie
    May 12, 2013

    She sounds like an incredible woman!

  4. Joan Speechley
    May 12, 2013

    Your tribute to your Mother is what every Mother in the world would love to hear from her child. I have always admired your Mom and she has done an exceptional job in raising her children/grandchildren. Love following your journey!

    • gstringjourney
      May 12, 2013

      Joan,
      How nice to hear from you. Thank you for message and for being with us on this journey. Buckle up, we are about to have some fun! I hope all is well with you.

  5. Catherine
    May 12, 2013

    What a beautiful tribute to your Mum! I’ve just recently met your mum this past year at our local book club, and she entertained us with stories of Afghanistan and your journey. As one who is not so adventurous, I still enjoy learning about and am fascinated by people who are. Love your blog!
    Safe travels
    Catherine

    • gstringjourney
      May 12, 2013

      Thank you Catherine. Nice to ‘meet you’. Mom was telling me about the book club. I was surprised she would sit long enough to read a book in the club’s time frame! I am glad you are enjoying the blog. Thank you for joining us!

  6. It’s easy to see that the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree! Your mom sounds like a wonderful woman, lovely tribute.

  7. Maya
    June 2, 2013

    What an awesome tribute! It was inspiring!

    • gstringjourney
      June 5, 2013

      Thanks Maya! I’m sure you can say the same of your mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2013 by in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , .

Sites of Interest

Countdown Kabul to Cork

Driving a '68 Bug from Afghanistan to Ireland!July 1st, 2013
Follow the campaign, planning, restoration and frustration!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Contact me

