G-string Journey

One Wild Journey, One Crazy Couple, One Life to Live

A dying breed

I think I can officially declare the Bug dead. I look back at the photos we have from when she first arrived to our home.

I have sweet memories of her youthful appearance; her creamy coat and perky demeanor. I smile when I see how she looked in those days – doors open wide as if to call us inside. Round lights looking up at us, waiting to go for a drive.

IMG_0807

Now, she has undergone a transformation. I don’t know her anymore. I can no longer see my reflection in her headlamps. Her doors no longer open to embrace us and there is no longer that VW smile on her hood. She seems to have left us.

m__MG_9367

Her doors, panels, and wheels lay on the floor by the wall, her paint has been sanded down, and her insides are on a table in the ‘motor room’. We need to conduct a quadruple by-pass. Valon has given us a list of everything that needs to be replaced before we can bring her back to life. The list is two pages long. One month to go…. do you think she’ll make it?! Valon keeps telling us it doesn’t look good. As her doctor, he is not instilling much confidence.

 

 

23 comments on “A dying breed

  1. Brent
    May 15, 2013

    Noooooooooo! That is so sad.

  2. Brent
    May 15, 2013

    ……..but what I am really thinking inside is this……..this is a good omen; get in a jet and get your asses out of there asap. If the bug is dead, perhaps you were never meant to drive it out of there (get it).
    Get out. And get yourselves quickly back to the Emerald Isle, and make a sweet life for yourselves.
    You’ve done enough…… πŸ™‚

  3. Jamie
    May 15, 2013

    All systems normal from what I can see!
    I remember it had accident damage at the front but nothing too bad.
    That’s not even close to dead, just sleeping before the big trip.

    • gstringjourney
      May 15, 2013

      We’ll wake her up on Friday and let you know how she reacts.

  4. Adnan
    May 15, 2013

    Don’t fret! Our rickshaw made. The bug can make it! I have faith!

  5. Maybe you could get a
    couple horses to pull it–or kess.

  6. Julianti Kallweit
    May 16, 2013

    oh noooooooo.. please do not lose hope. it is going to happen  

    >________________________________ > From: G-string Journey >To: julianti_kallweit@yahoo.com >Sent: Wednesday, May 15, 2013 6:09 PM >Subject: [New post] A dying breed > > > WordPress.com >gstringjourney posted: “I think I can officially declare the Bug dead. I look back at the photos we have from when she first arrived to our home. I have sweet memories of her youthful appearance; her creamy coat and perky demeanor. I smile when I see how she looked in those day” >

  7. Julianti Kallweit
    May 16, 2013

    oh noooooooo.. please do not lose hope. it is going to happen…am keeping my fingers and toes crossed  

    >________________________________ > From: G-string Journey >To: julianti_kallweit@yahoo.com >Sent: Wednesday, May 15, 2013 6:09 PM >Subject: [New post] A dying breed > > > WordPress.com >gstringjourney posted: “I think I can officially declare the Bug dead. I look back at the photos we have from when she first arrived to our home. I have sweet memories of her youthful appearance; her creamy coat and perky demeanor. I smile when I see how she looked in those day” >

    • gstringjourney
      May 16, 2013

      keep ’em crossed Julz! Will keep you updated – in with parts for the makeover

  8. Anna Marie
    May 16, 2013

    Fingers crossed it can be saved!

  9. nonfatlatte
    May 16, 2013

    Nooooo!!! Nothin’ beats a bug. Surely she can be fixed!

    • gstringjourney
      May 16, 2013

      We’re working on it! Nothing some flowered pants and a stripped shirt can’t fix πŸ˜‰

      • nonfatlatte
        May 16, 2013

        WooHoo!!!! You got that right! πŸ˜‰

  10. Tina Schell
    May 16, 2013

    Oh my, she doesn’t look good. But then neither do I without make-up and hair – she may just need refreshing πŸ™‚

    • gstringjourney
      May 16, 2013

      You’re right Tina, a little make-up and she’ll be just fine!

  11. Bob Davies
    May 17, 2013

    Poor thing looks like Garfield yawning. bob

  12. Roger Perdomo
    May 18, 2013

    May the bug is like the famous Herbie. I bet you remember one of those movies. Will be great to see it ride again and take you guys to Cork.

    • gstringjourney
      May 20, 2013

      I think it may get worse before it gets better, but I have faith it will ride again!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2013 by in Kabul to Cork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Sites of Interest

Countdown Kabul to Cork

Driving a '68 Bug from Afghanistan to Ireland!July 1st, 2013
Follow the campaign, planning, restoration and frustration!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Contact me

