G-string Journey

One Wild Journey, One Crazy Couple, One Life to Live

For every door that closes…

What is that saying? For every door that closes, a window is opened? Where the heck is the window?! It is pretty darn stuffy in here!

door window 2I spoke with Naved, our fabulous ‘fixer’, who helped us to get our registration sorted out. He said, and I quote, “I tried very hard, but I just can’t get the Road Pass”. This admission came after four months of knocking at the door of the Ministry of Transportation, calling and paying visits to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and sending letters and documents to the Embassy of Uzbekistan. We were in touch with the Department of Foreign Affairs in Mazar-i-Sharif, the largest border town with Uzbekistan, as well as with the Consulate there. I asked a former colleague and friend of mine in Mazar to approach both offices personally. I even spoke with a friend in Uzbekistan who put me in touch with friends of hers who know people in the Ministry of Transport in Uzbekistan. Friends and family and friends of friends have all been trying to help us to obtain the coveted Road Pass, and for the last four months Naved has been telling us it will only take two more weeks. Today, however, those seven words: “I just can’t get the Road Pass”, sounded like the final door clicking shut.

So, what does this mean? Does this mean that all our hard work to get the parts, the registration, and the assistance that we needed to get the car on the road have been for naught? Do we cut our losses and hop on the next plane out of here?

Not a chance! We are looking for the window. I am sure it is there somewhere. This afternoon I called an old colleague at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and am keeping my fingers crossed. Somewhere, I am sure I can feel a breeze.

8 comments on “For every door that closes…

  1. Brent
    June 12, 2013

    Oh Henry. Please, cut your losses and get your butts out of that place as soon as you can. The Emerald Isle is calling you both.

    • gstringjourney
      June 13, 2013

      Oh Boo Man, I am so disappointed in your lack of stamina! You know me better than that… πŸ˜‰

  2. Eric
    June 12, 2013

    Maybe Allah is giving you a message! Sell your Museum-piece and take to the Wing! Eric

    • gstringjourney
      June 13, 2013

      Ha! Eric, you won’t get me to back down that easily! If I gave in to every hiccup I wouldn’t have been able to work in most of the countries I have worked in for long! Keep the hope Eric πŸ™‚

  3. sarah clancy
    June 12, 2013

    For some reason I have a feeling that if anyone can do it you can. I am picturing you right now with it in hand. πŸ™‚

    • gstringjourney
      June 13, 2013

      Oh don’t you doubt it!! So determined right now! πŸ™‚

  4. Jen fry
    June 14, 2013

    Go Sheils!! Pack a pocket knife and you will be just fine!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2013 by in Kabul to Cork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Sites of Interest

Countdown Kabul to Cork

Driving a '68 Bug from Afghanistan to Ireland!July 1st, 2013
Follow the campaign, planning, restoration and frustration!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Contact me

